During the past 100 years the landscape program developed from one that taught gardening and floriculture to one that focuses on the design, management, renewal, and restoration of landscapes across a range of scales, from urban plazas to wilderness areas. In 2013 Berkeley’s Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning (LAEP) ranked in the top ten landscape architecture graduate programs nationally and is proud to be known for the design of compelling spaces that promote ecological integrity and social equity.

With this educational background, alumni from the LAEP Department often go on to do great things and teach the skills and thoughtfulness to continue the Berkeley traditions. The College of Environmental Design recognizes annually the outstanding achievements of its alumni with the Distinguished Alumni Award. Since the College began giving this award in 1998, 18 LAEP alumni have been recognized:

Garrett Eckbo

Francis Violich

Richard Haag

Robert Royston

Orlando Diaz-Azcuy

Shlomo Aronson

Mai Arbegast

Diane Kostial McGuire

Peter Walker

Mario Schjetnan

Frédéric Christophe Girot

Asa Hanamoto

William Callaway

Moura Quayle

Michael Painter

Topher Delaney

John Wong

Achva Stein

Alumni play an important role in the continued success of the Department by establishing successful careers, returning to teach subsequent generations of students, and by providing generous support to the College, the Department, and their resources. A sincere thank-you and here is to the next 100 years!