San Francisco City Hall

The 1912 competition to design San Francisco’s new City Hall drew submissions from architects throughout the state.  Bernard J.S. Cahill; Horace Simpson; Weihe, Frick & Kruse; and Bernard Maybeck were among the finalists.  Not everyone was happy with the chosen design, as evidenced by Bernard J.S. Cahill’s petition to the mayor as shown above. The winning entry, by John Bakewell and Arthur Brown, was completed in 1915.